Busy and more busy

Standard

It seems like just as things get settling down, another new set of issues arise to take the old ones place. I am sure that it happens to everyone else too. It has happened a lot here lately.

In our circle fo friends and family we have lost four members. One is the father of a dear friend, another is an aunt, and two more are uncles. Wow! So much loss this past month. To add to the issues, my youngest has boomeranged back home again. With this move, it brings an assortment of issues itself, like the wee grand needing babysat, and waking him up when his alarm doesn’t go off. Next is my sister in law, who, while visiting from Kentucky, got ill and had to be transported to the hospital by ambulance to spend a night in ICU.

During all of these things, we are attempting to pack stuff up here at the house in anticipation of moving my mil to Kentucky. To that end, we are not only packing her things, but unpacking our stuff from storage, as we get it a little at a time. Now on to the painting of the house, and getting new carpet, and the pets being sick and you begin to see what has been going on lately. Gee, is it any wonder I am flaring? (serious sarcasm intended). Oh, and did I mention that there are literally tons of boxes of things stacked everywhere and you can hardly walk through the house?

Ok, so life does throw things in bunches at us. I always think that if I can make it through this one, the next one will be easier. As I age, though, it is not getting easier. Wisdom with the age does help me to solve some of these things relatively easier. However, the ones that are harder to solve wear me down more and more.

Ah, such is life.

I am so thankful today to have the frineds I have, who so generously give of their time and energy, to help me feel better. I am so unworthy of their friendship, yet they stay here, next to me, and render assistance when it is needed. I am so thankful for those friends (and you know who you are…).

I am also thankful for my family. My husband gives me support, as well as my children and grandchildren. The grandchildren (or grands as I call them) give me the best medicine in the world…love, unconditional and totally love.

As I sit here at my happy place (the campground) alone, I am reminded that it truly is the little things that mean the most. Peace and quiet, moments to meditate, the gentle chirping of the crickets, and the feelings of the stress leaving me are all a welcome relief. I hope that all of us can find this happy place within ourselves so we can grow and feel better.

 

