hibernation

Standard

It has begun yet again. It is that time of the year when I begin the staying indoor life and very little of the outdoors life that I enjoy so much. When the weather changes, it is a wondrous thing. Seasons are lovely things. I love it when spring begins, the pushing forth of new shoots of all types of plants. The greening of trees and grass. The feelings of life beginning anew. I love spring. It is the beginning of warmer days and cool nights. People begin to emerge from their winter hibernation. Thus, the title of this blog.

Hibernation is defined as (from Merriam Webster dictionary online):

1: to pass the winter in a torpid or resting state
2: to be or become inactive or dormant
 
I have begun my winter hibernation, sooner than I wanted to. You see, after our walk for lupus, and my trip to Kentucky. I ran completely and totally out of energy. Energy to function, to get out of bed, to eat, and to do anything more than sleep. Yes, I am quite good at sleeping lately. I could be an olympic sleeper these last few days.
 
In the interest of explaining this to those who are “normal”, I will try endeavor to equate this with something you would understand.  Have you ever had a bout with the flu where you feel awful and have no energy? You have aches and pains and all you want to do is burrow under the covers and sleep? That is similar to what I have been feeling. Not quite as bad, but similar.
 
I was wondering if any other of my lupus friends are feeling the same way. This time of year seems to do that for me. The cooler weather brings on the achiness in my joints. The good old arms and legs begin to feel like rubber and useless. At times, it feel like there is an elephant sitting on my limbs and whenever I move I have to move it as well. I have also heard it explained as walking in knee deep sand underwater. Both are apt descriptions.
 
So, my hibernation seems to have begun much earlier than I anticipated. Maybe this will pass and I will be out and about feeling improved sooner. I can hope and pray for that to happen. I would love to be surprised on this point! Hope to hear how you all are coping with this season change.  
 
 

