Mi Vida Loca

Standard

In case you cannot translate the title, it means My Crazy Life. Things have been crazy around here at times.  We have had snow, then more snow, then more snow and now the weather people are saying more snow and then rain and then more snow. Call me negative but I hate snow.

Yeah, I know, it is pretty and white and makes everything look pretty. It hides the dirty and darkness of winter with its lightness. It is fun for kids to play in and get snow days from school. Yeah, there is a lot to like about it. The snow is not fooling me though.

Snow is a dirty four letter word that means several things to me. Several other four letter words come to mind, like pain, hurt, and some of many more letters as well. They include doctors, aches, bedrest and hibernation.

The irony is that I used to love snow. I was as big a kid as the next person, making snowmen and having snow ball fights with the grandkids and hubs. Not so much anymore. The times, they are a changing.

I now understand why older folks move south. I get it. Totally. Warmth and sunshine mean less pain, more moving and grooving, and time to have some fun. Swimming is an activity that I thoroughly enjoy. It is easy on the joints and helps me feel better overall. Sunshine is another good one. Most lupus patients cannot tolerate the sun without a flare up of their disease occurring. I am not like that. I can handle sunshine as long as I am careful and take precautions. Yay for me!

So, in addition to the snow, we have had some grandbaby visits, some doctor visits, car issues, and still more snow. Mi vida loca… ahhh the good life!

