Hobbies

Standard

When discussing the autoimmune clusters, I have seemingly overdosed on information for the uninitiated. I am not sorry for that, just hope that you take in the information as you are able. For this post, I am discussing hobbies and their therapeutic effects for those of us who may have trouble doing physically challenging hobbies.

I personally love to scrapbook. I can do this in my pajamas, in my dress, in any outfit. I can do it sitting down. I can pace myself and do what I want to do. I do not set unreasonable goals, like doing a whole album in one weekend. I have done that before, but in scrapbooking, for me at least, it is freestyle. By freestyle I mean that if I want to make some pages up on one subject then switch to another subject, I do that. I do one thing at a time. I do not need to do it all at once. I might trim a picture and then stop. It is up to me. It is empowering to be able to get things accomplished at my own pace. That is why I like to scrapbook.

Another hobby I have is I sew. I should say I used to sew. I found that I would not stop no matter what and because it would be counter productive, I have all but given it up. Sad but true.

I have also made quilts and I crochet. I have tried to knit and despite the best efforts, I am unable to master it. It ends up being an exercise in futility so I gave that up too.

Some may think that is sad, that I have given up things I love to do. I choose to think that if the time comes when I can do them again, I will certainly do them again. The skill is not lost, it is just resting on the shelf for bit.

So, now I would like to ask if anyone out there has a favorite hobby or such that they enjoy doing? If so, would you share it with others so we can see what makes you happiest?

2 thoughts on “Hobbies

  1. Eva

    Hi Jennifer,

    I just want to say I feel blessed to have stumbled across your web page. I was finally FIRMLY diagnosed with Lupus 3 years ago after 10 years of playing flip-flop much like yourself. I’ve often felt like I was drowning in a sea of too much technical information that meant nothing to me because I just didn’t understand it. You put everything into perspective for me and gave me information that NO ONE has discussed with me before (like Brain Fog) and now I know I’m not alone and I’m not going crazy!! Thank you, thank you and THANK YOU!

    As for “Hobbies” – all my life (from the age of 7 at least lol) I’ve done counted cross stitch. Alas, my hands and eyes tell me “No more.” So, my last project ever was the one I did for my mother-in-law this last Christmas (and it was VERY difficult to complete, believe me). I have found a substitute for now, plastic canvas work. The needle is bigger and easier to hold and the holes in the canvas are bigger and easier to see. It will do until I just can’t do that anymore either. After that, who knows…. I’ll find something!

    Thanks for being you and helping someone who felt VERY alone find the courage to roar!

    Eva Wiltbank
    “I have Lupus – IT does not have ME!”

    • As, Eva, I have only just posted the truth about lupus and how it affects me. Thank you for the kind words. There were several reasons I started this blog and one was to show other lupus patients that even though we have differing manifestations we still share this disease. Lupus is different in each person but we do share many symptoms as well. This blog also allows me to vent my frustrations and feel better. I thank you for your kind words. It means a lot to me to get feedback. I hope you enjoy the blog and please continue to comment. Jen

Comments are closed.