Why I Walk

Standard

 

To be honest, last year I did not walk but still attended the event. This year is not looking too good for me walking either, but I will still tell you why I attend the walk. When I say I walk, I mean attending the event, since walking is not an option due to the disease activity right now. Please read…

I walk for my family, my children and grandchildren. They are at risk of developing Lupus because of me. I walk so they will not have to suffer and feel the pain of joints hurting and rashes appearing and organs inflamed. I walk for their future being pain free and healthy. I do not want this disease to impact them as it has me.

I walk for those who are unable to walk the walk anymore. They are fighting the best they can to survive each day with a smile on their face and joy in their heart. They do not take each day for granted but enjoy each day to the fullest because they have learned to appreciate each day they are given to survive. They are the warriors in this disease.

I walk for those who have passed on. This year alone, I have known of at least ten people who this disease has overtaken. There are many more that I do not know, but the sad fact is that this disease will consume many more loving people before their time. Those who have passed on are the inspiration to me to keep going, and not let the disease win if I can help it.

I walk for those not yet diagnosed. So many times it takes YEARS before a diagnosis can be made. With more awareness and assistance, we hope to cut this time down so patients can get the life saving treatment they need sooner rather than later. In some, this difference can mean life or death. It is vital to shorten this time!

I walk for those in such pain that they find daily living a challenge. Why must we feel bad when asking medical professionals for help in pain management? I truly believe that if more men had this disease, pain management would not be an issue. More women have this disease and as such, pain management can de a daunting challenge. We deserve to live as pain free as we can. We are not asking for something to get high. We are asking for medications that can help us to function on a daily basis as normally as possible. Why do we feel like drug addicts when we ask for help? Medical professionals need to understand that this is a chronic, incurable disease that can come and go and when we are in need of help, please give us the help we need. It is a small thing to ask for yet it is often a challenge because of the laws and the feelings of each doctor.

Finally, I walk so that others can be educated on this disease. Awareness is a key to funding, earlier diagnosis, treatment, and research. The more people realize that lupus is out here and more prolific that many diseases that have a higher profile, the more help we will get. Please take a few moments of your time and read about lupus. Talk about lupus. Join the LFA. Become proactive. For those of us with lupus, we need your help to get the word out. The normal people out there are the ones who can take the ball and run with it. They have the energy and time to be able to help those of us who can’t. Please go to

www.lfa.org and learn more about it.

If we can help just one person, will that not make everyone feel better? Join our cause and see what one person can do. The walk is just the tip of the iceberg.

On a personal note, I am proud of my granddaughter, Audrey, who has walked the walk since she was 3 years old. She WALKS and has raised money each year to help her meemaw. That, my friends, is love.

One thought on “Why I Walk

  1. Eva

    Oh Jen!!! I am crying SO hard right now!!! God BLESS you Honey!!!! You and everyone that DOES walk for those of us that can’t!! For those of us that struggle to make it up the stairs at the end of the day. For those of us that use motorized scooters to go grocery shopping because even THAT is too much for us. For those of us that wake up in the morning, get downstairs and STAY there because there’s just no way we’re getting back up there without assistance. For those of us who a half block trek to the mailbox is too much today so, it can wait until tomorrow. Thank you, your family, everyone who walks to raise awareness. There are those of us who wish we could. There are those of us who wish that diagnosis had come earlier because by the time they “caught it” it was already too late. Thank you and may there be nothing but the Brightest of Blessings to all who fight and raise awareness!!!

Comments are closed.