Hard Candy recipe

Standard

This made some really good candy so I thought I would share it! Easy too! I get my flavored oils at our local compounding pharmacy (Clark’s), believe it or not and it is inexpensive too! Here ya go!

2 cups of white sugar

3/4 cup of water

2/3 cup light corn syrup

1 dram of flavored oil

2 drops of food coloring (optional)

powdered sugar

Mix together the sugars and water and stir mixture over medium heat until boiling. Once it starts to boil, stop stirring. Allow candy to boil until it reaches 260 degrees. Add the food coloring but do not stir! The boiling action will mix it in. Continue boiling until it reaches 300 degrees or until it forms a hard brittle thread when drops are put in cold water.

Remove from heat. Allow mixture to stop boiling and once that has happened, put flavoring in and stir. (As a side note here, I used a dram like it calls for but it is strong, so next time, I will use half a dram instead). Do not lean over mixture or get your face in the steam!

Quickly pour the mixture into a lightly greased cookie sheet (which has sides on it) and spread out. As it starts to harden, score the candy with a pizza cutter or knife into little squares to make it easier to break apart when cool.

Once cooled, break into pieces and drop into a small bowl with powdered sugar to coat the candy and prevent sticking. Shake off excess and store in airtight container.

This is really good!!

2 thoughts on “Hard Candy recipe

  1. I am delighted to report that the Hard Candy made using your wonderful recipe was successful. Big time. I can’t believe that I did it. (Normally I never seem to get it right on the first try.) So thank you, thank you. It’s no doubt due to your terrific and easy-to-follow instructions.

    What flavor or oil did you use?

    Thanks

    Aileene

    • I am so glad you liked it. I have never made it before either and it turned out great! I used cinnamon as my flavor. I am hoping to make a few more different flavors too. Which flavor did you make?

Comments are closed.