Supplements and/or Lupus Meds

Standard

I am winging this post because I have been struggling with this issue. I am taking a few supplements, along with my lupus meds. I am in the area of a little of this, a little of that.

I know some of my fellow lupies use natural supplements without meds, while others use meds without supplements. I am in the middle here. I am open to hearing from those who do any of the above and how they feel.

I would like to state here that if you are taking both meds and supplements, make sure you tell your doctors (all of them) what you are taking of both. Some of the supplements and meds do nto mix and you do not want to have an adverse reaction from using both.

I am fortunate in that my doctors, I have ones with open minds who embrace both medical and natural methods of treatments. You really need to be open and honest with your docs so you have a treatment plan that is tailored to you and your disease activity.

So, if you use supplements, which do you use and why? This is not scientific in nature, just asking the people who use them how they help them in the interest of information.

I personally take soy (menopause), vitamin c, vitamin b12, and lysine.

Thanks for all the encouraging comments and remarks about this blog! I am glad others find it educational. Thanks for making it the success it is becoming!

3 thoughts on “Supplements and/or Lupus Meds

  1. Just a tip, if you have Hashimoto’s (diagnosed at 9) don’t replace estrogen even w/a suppliment, w/o talking to your Endo first. Thyroxin/Synthroid/Levothyroxin are in constant dual w/estrogen. Soy is very nasty w/Hashimoto’s too. If ya have both SLE & Hashimotos, be careful. Just sayin’ experience is a great albeit, tough teacher.

    • Great information! I have a sister who has Hasimoto’s while I have the SLE. I was told when I was 17 never to use hormones. I found out the hard way and do not plan on trying estrogen. I figure I can tough it out on menopause. I am using soy though for the hot flashes. So far so good.

  2. Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News. Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Appreciate it

Comments are closed.