Frugal Days

Standard

Hey everyone!

As most know, I am always on the lookout for ways to save money. I have been making a liquid laundry soap for some time now but since I have downsized to a small house, I decided to try this powdered laundry soap instead because it is not as big (the liquid makes 5 gallons) and it stores easily. Since I like it so well, I decided to pass it on to you all.

I just wanted to pass on this wonderful laundry soap recipe for a powdered laundry soap that is easy to make and simple to use. You only need one eighth of a cup of detergent (more or less depending on your waters hardness) and it is totally extremely cost effective. All you need is a food processor or a blender that is great at grinding.  Here is the recipe I used and added my own touch to it.

1 bar of ivory soap ( some prefer fels naptha)

1 cup washing soda

1 cup borax

1 cup PUREX crystals fabric softener (if desired)*

Finely grate the soap into little balls (it turns out that way). Put into your container, then add the washing soda and borax. Mix thoroughly.

*Here is my addition to this recipe… I love PUREX crystals lavendar scent. I also add the crystals into the mixture so that I only have to scoop it out once. No mixing. I also use a plastic container to store it in.

I use 1/8 cup per load, but my water is very hard. The recipe calls for 2 Tablespoons per load. You can adjust it accordingly.  For added scent,or  in case you do not like the crystals, you can use a scented soap and have scent. I make a huge batch each time so I do not have to worry about running out. You should store this in a sealed container. You can craft it up by decorating your container and viola! you are done!

How do you save money? Share your frugal tips too!

One thought on “Frugal Days

Comments are closed.