Coffee Please

Standard

English: Roasted coffee beans photographed usi...

English: Roasted coffee beans photographed using a macro technique. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When I was younger, if I drank coffee, I was wired for the whole day! It made me feel like I could do anything! Great stuff.

Now that I am older, I have found my reaction to coffee has changed. I drink it now and get sleepy. Yes, sleepy. I could drink a whole pot and go to bed….no problem at all! Ironic when you consider that it is a stimulant.

I have historical precedence for this phenomenon. I clearly have memories of both of my grandfathers enjoying coffee all day long and being able to go right to sleep. My grandmothers also drank it all day long. My paternal grandfather could fall asleep holding his cup! Makes me wonder if something in my body has changed as  I got older.

I no longer get the jitters from it. Coffee has been known to mellow me out and make me at ease in the situation I find myself in.

So, if you see me out, make sure there is a coffee cup nearby. I love the stuff and enjoy it more all the time. How about you?

One thought on “Coffee Please

Comments are closed.