Coffee

Standard

English: A photo of a cup of coffee. Esperanto...

English: A photo of a cup of coffee. Esperanto: Taso de kafo. Français : Photo d’une tasse de caffé Español: Taza de café (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Coffee is a unique thing to each person. When I was younger, it would wind me up and send me out to face the world with a bundle of energy. It was my energy! As time has progressed along with my age, I have found that my reactions to coffee have changed as well.

Coffee now is not the energy maker it was in my youth. I have found it to be the opposite now. I can drink a pot of coffee and go to bed and sleep. I mean, sleep really well. It seems that as my body changed with age, I have developed to the point that stimulants are no longer stimulants to me, they act as opposites now. Crazy, huh?

Conversely, when I take a narcotic pain medication, it reacts like a stimulant to me. I become energetic once the pain subsides. I am not sure how or when it happened, or even why, but I accept it as just being my unique self with strange body reactions. To think it all started with that first cup of coffee…

3 thoughts on “Coffee

  1. Lynn

    Pain meds have the same reaction on me. I try to take them as little as possible for fear of becoming addicted, but I love the way they give me energy. SO much of my life is spent sitting or laying down, frozen by fatigue, that it feels wonderful to get up and get stuff done. Too often I say/lay there wishing I could move, even just lift an arm. I’ll sit there hungry as can be and not be able to get up and eat something. I only drink decaffeinated coffee, so I’m not sure if it would put me to sleep.

    Le me know if you discover something to make my lupus rash go away. It’s all over my body, even my face, and I look like a hot mess. 8^D

    • Hi Lynn!
      I am to the point where I do not care how addicting they are, I just want to live as normal a life as I can. To be honest, I do not think for myself that addiction is a problem, since I have had this for over 20 years now, in effect I feel like I am on borrowed time. If I can feel as normal as possible, it would be a great improvement. Oh well, not going to happen.

      That fatigue is a beast. I totally understand how you feel. Some days all I can do is go to the bathroom and lay in the recliner. Period. I think others sometimes think I am making it up to not do things but trust me, I would much rather be flitting around the ouse doing the cleaning and stuff. Laying is a pain. I find myself thinking of all the things I wish I could do then I get depressed and start all over again. It is a vicious cycle.

      I have not heard of anything for the rashes. I personally use a cortisone cream or spray on mine. Seems to do the trick. Each of us is different though so what works for me might not work for you.

      Thanks for sharing how you are like me. I appreciate it very much when others share their issues and stories. I think it helps us all so that we do not feel so alone.

      Sending you gentle hugs ~Jen

      • Lynn

        It feels good to have company, not that I’d wish this on anyone. I started sleeping in my recliner about a month ago after getting a spinal stress fracture. My rheumatologist suggested it and I sleep SO much better on the nights that I don’t have restless leg syndrome or feel like bugs are crawling on my skin. I hate those nights!

        My family is very understanding about my limits, but my best friend doesn’t get it at all. Several times she’s called to ask if I want to walk the dogs with her and when I said I can’t, she responded, “You can. You just don’t want to.” We’ve been friends for decades but I really want to bop her upside the head when she makes comments like that. It’s extremely hurtful because it shows she can’t be bothered to learn more. If I tell her how I feel physically, she thinks I’m complaining. If I refrain from telling her, she thinks I’m fine and should be able to do all kinds of physical stuff like we use to. Ugh!

        I just found a lupus group right in my home town and I’m looking forward to attending their next meeting.

        Thanks for posting all the lupus info in your blog. I’m really enjoying it!

Comments are closed.