Tremors In Lupus Patients

Standard

To start this post, I find it is important to describe what the definition of tremor is. Here is the definition from wikipedia:

A tremor is an involuntary,[1] somewhat rhythmic, muscle contraction and relaxation involving to and fro movements (oscillations or twitching) of one or more body parts. It is the most common of all involuntary movements and can affect the hands, arms, eyes, face, head, vocal folds, trunk, and legs. Most tremors occur in the hands. In some people, tremor is a symptom of another neurological disorder. A very common kind of tremor is the chattering of teeth, usually induced by cold temperatures or by fear.

This would seem to be a complete definition but the things I experience do not necessarily fit into this tight definition. I do experience hands shaking, sometimes lip quivering, and muscle twitches at times. The shaking I get that drives me bonkers is where it feels like the whole inside of my body is shaking and it may or may not show in my hands or other body area. It is quite frustrating and scary. It makes me stop whatever I am doing and have to try to lay down and rest to relax my body. It does not seem to be anxiety related either. It cans trike me at random and is puzzling and frightening. So, as I usually do, I thought I would research this out too.

Amazingly, I found not one shred of medical information regarding this, other than others who have had this experience. I usually find things on medical boards or places like medline or webmd but not in this instance. It made me wonder if any of you have had this happen to you too.

I know I saw quite a few others asking this same question as well. I know I am not alone in this. It just may take some time until more is known in the realm of medical professionals for me to find anything online.

8 thoughts on “Tremors In Lupus Patients

  1. I am a newbie lupie and all of these alien things are taking over my body! It is so weird because this is my 1st day of digging into this blog and it sent me right to this thread! My quad has been twitching for a long time while laying here and I had no idea it was a lupus thing! Boy, do I have a lot to learn!!

    • Read away dear. I try to scour the Internet and post it here so it saves time and energy which we have precious little of. Please jump into the conversations and ask questions! We are not alone and having a community is important when we are sick! My name is Jen. Thanks for finding us and I hope you enjoy!

  2. Teresa

    I’ve seen these tremors with my lupus as well. I usually get a small head/neck/upper spine tremor. But my hands and fingers will quiver so that sometimes i am unable to pick up items even after several trys. Doctors just shrug it off but the tremors are a bit scary especially the neck and spine ones.

  3. Kelly

    My hands also shake quite often…I don’t usually notice it myself but my husband & son will often say “why are your hands shaking so much?” Sometimes I do notice it myself , usually when I am trying to do something delicate and it seems I just can’t get my hands to work quite right. But it, like most thing, comes and goes. I have no idea what causes it but if I find out I will let you know 🙂

Comments are closed.