This and That

Standard

Well, the past few weeks have been an emotional ride of happiness and sadness, mixed with laughter and tears. Life is fragile yet resilient. It’s been up and down for sure.

In the last few weeks, we have seen several acquaintances pass away. All tragically. One was found face down in a swimming pool. She was comatose for a few days but ultimately passed away. Another was working at his job and heavy machinery fell upon him, killing him instantly. Yet another friend, whose husband passed away within the last two months, had her son pass away due to accidental overdose. He was in his early thirties. His poor mother also lost her first husband, his father, to a drowning accident many years ago. She has now lost two husbands and a son. How sad.

On a positive note, I have my stomach surgery date! It will be on August 13th. I am excited to get these issues resolved and yet I am worried as well. At my age (53) anytime you undergo surgery it can be risky. I am working to get as much done before I have it. You know, cleaning, cooking meals ahead of time, laundry. I won’t feel compelled to do work if I get these things done ahead of time.

A sweet and dear friend made me peanut butter fudge so I can enjoy it before I go onto my liquid diet following surgery. Yummy! It is delicious!

My husband also won two tickets to see Charlie Daniels. So last night we attended the concert at a local venue here in our town. It’s a great facility. They are a bowling alley with a great restaurant, a huge sand volleyball area with a huge stage for bands. I was sitting in the third row of chairs in the sand. For an old man he put on a whale of a show!! I had sooo much fun!!

So, we have had fun and cried. Ups and downs. Bits of this and that. Hope you all are doing well. Enjoy this day because we are not promised tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “This and That

  1. Anonymous

    With all the deaths it may kick up a lupus flare as stress does that to us. Surgery is also stress on the body. So if you feel “down” it may be the lupus rather than depression by itself. Good luck to you.

  2. Lynn

    I wish you the very best with your upcoming surgery and pray you heal quickly. I haven’t posted for a long time because the Lupus was getting the best of me. It’s quite a struggle!

    I just got out of the hospital because my GP decided not to renew my prednisone and neglected to inform me. My adrenal system completely shut down because I couldn’t get prednisone on time. I’ve been on it for over 4 yrs. Needless to say, I’m now looking for a whole new set of doctors. Doctors that will keep in touch with each other.

    Prayers and healing energy have been sent your way.
    Lynn

    • Thanks Lynn and back at you too! I know, this stupid disease can certainly give us so many issues! After I heal from this surgery, I am looking at hip replacement! Don’t know why all these systems are acting up all at once.

      I cannot believe you had to go through that!! New doctors is sadly what we have to do when things like that occur. Be thinking of you too! Thanks. Jen

Comments are closed.