Home and Away

Standard

Do you get out much in winter? Do you find yourself wishing you could?

I am pretty much housebound in winter. My reasonings are pretty simple. I have to be careful not to slip or fall thus breaking bones. I also tend to have worsening of pain after going out into the cold. I have raynauds too so I am more vulnerable to the cold. If you add in the migraines from the whole hot to cold, well, you can see why I am reluctant to go out.

I am fortunate in that I can maintain my spiritual health by phone and visits from those in the congregation. When it is time for my meetings, I call in and I can listen in and it feels like I am there. It is a loving provision and I am grateful for it.

It is easy to get depressed during the winter, and more so because of having to stay indoors. It is important to get sunlight into your day even if only briefly. The sunshine truly brightens your spirit and helps those prone to seasonal affective disorder by giving you the needed sunlight.

I admit to not opening the curtains much here but it is because if the sun is too bright, it can trigger a migraine. It’s a catch 22 for me so I try to dampen down the brightness so I can have the needed sunshine, just not too strongly.

I hope you all are faring well this winter day. As I write this, I am looking out onto a deep carpet of glistening snow that is sparkling because of the sun shining into it. We have around five inches out there right now and more forecast for tomorrow. This has been one of the snowiest winters in recent years. I don’t mind too much since I can watch it from inside my warm home. However, if you have to go out, please be careful. Have a great day!!

2 thoughts on “Home and Away

  1. Mario

    Hi! Going out in the winter can certainly get old quick, watching from inside a warm house isn’t the worst option! I wanted to reach out with a question, but couldn’t find your email. Please contact me when you see this. Thanks!

Comments are closed.