Have you ever… had uncontrollable shivering/shaking with sudden onset and unexplained?

Standard

This title is about a question I wanted to ask you all… have any of you ever just started shivering uncontrollably with no reason, such as fever, and if so, how long did it last?

Tonight as I was preparing to go to bed, I began shivering uncontrollably. I mean it began in my torso and spread out to the extremities. It felt and looked like a seizure except I was fully aware of everything around me. My muscles were contracting as well. Now that it is over, I am aching all over. Mine lasted over half an hour.

I see my rheumy at noon today so this will be on the list of topics discussed  My neurologist told me last time I saw him that I have evidence of neurological manifestations from lupus. I see him in April so he will be informed as well.

I am curious to know if anyone else has had this happen to them. Thanks!

2 thoughts on “Have you ever… had uncontrollable shivering/shaking with sudden onset and unexplained?

  1. It definitely sounds like a seizure. My boyfriend (who’s in the medical field) once told me he’s pretty sure he had a seizure and was fully aware of it but couldn’t control it. Good luck at the dr!

    • Thanks! I see my rheumy in a little over an hour so I hope to know more afterwards. I didn’t think you remembered a seizure. My hubs had one and had no clue. It was scary for me because I wanted it to stop so badly. My muscles are achy today.

Comments are closed.