Winter Is Coming

Standard

I am trying to think positively about winter this year. Winter has usually meant pain for me and being house bound more than outside. This year I have decided to think more positively about winter. How? Let me tell you…

I enjoy crafts. Many different crafts. Instead of being in dread of winter, I am going to focus on my crafts and the things I can do with them. For example, I have a new sewing machine. I want to get back into quilting again. It has been a long time but I am truly excited to think about doing some more quilts.

I also enjoy scrapbooking. I have a bunch of pictures needing to be scrapped and I plan on putting good use to them this winter. I also need to print out new ones to scrap as well.

I crochet too. Nothing fancy like my sister does, but I have a queen size blanket I have been working on for several years now and I can work on it as time permits. I like to crochet while listening to a program on tv. Time passes quickly and more rows are added with hardly any effort. I also want to try making fingerless gloves for me for winter. My sister made me a pair and I am modeling them after the one she made for me.

I am also planning on working on my skill set of self sustaining skills. I love several you tubers who have helped me to learn about gardening, canning, and homesteading. Just keeping my mind open to new things keeps me from stagnating over winter. Plus, it gives me new ideas for spring! For instance, I already have a diagram of my garden for next year based on information I learned from this years garden.

At some point in winter, I will start my seeds for next years garden. I am learning the skill of seed saving so that next year I can grow plants from this years plants. Cilantro anyone? I have saved seeds from beans, tomatoes, cilantro, peppers, onions and I could go on. I will be growing potatoes next year too along with garlic and more onions. I will grow what we eat.

In closing, I always viewed winter with dread. However, thanks to thinking positively, I am now looking forward to the season and all the exciting things it holds in store! What are some positive things you look forward to?

 

Leave a Reply

