Black Walnuts

Standard

In our little area of Kentucky, black walnut trees abound. For those who have never had a black walnut, they differ from english walnuts by a deeper, dark flavor profile that adds great taste to whatever they are added to. I love them.

Our back yard has two trees in it and our neighbors all have them in their yards as well. In our town, you can collect all that you can collect, then take them to a man in town who hulls them and then buys them from you. I found this out after my hands were stained by the walnut stain, which is dark brown, when I hand hulled the ones I did.

You do not get much for them, considering how expensive they are at the grocery. However, I got my husband on board and we get out daily and collect from all our neighbors yards as well as our own. I consider it exercise. bending, up and down, picking up all the lovely walnuts. I have actually lost weight in doing this! Plus, I refuse to let food rot on the ground, as is the case for most folks who have this tree in their yards. I feel good doing the collection of these nuts, and get a tiny compensation for doing it. I get paid 15 cents a pound after hulling. So far, I have taken down 90 pounds of nuts. Not including my husband…ha ha.

Our leaves are really starting to change here now. They are so beautiful. It is really nice living here among sweet folks who really look after each other. I have always felt at home here, mostly because most of my family is from Kentucky. My people are mountain people. People who eked out a living farming hillsides, hunting deer, sewing their clothes, and if they didn’t grow it, shoot it or make it, they did without. I am proud to be one of them. I am trying to learn these skills so I can pass them on to my grandchildren and keep the skills alive.

I know this is rambling a bit. I apologize. I am introspective today as I sit out on our front porch, watching the breeze blow the leaves, listening to the lawn mower mowing my neighbors yard, hearing my wind chimes play their delightful tune as they dance in the breeze. My flowers are still going strong out here. I mean, it is 85 degrees here today! The garden is still going, I am still getting banana peppers, green bell peppers, lettuce and soon carrots. I am pulling weeds and putting down wood chips and compost to prepare for next year. I am planning on expanding the garden next year by another six feet by twenty feet.

As for the lupus, I am still in some pain overall, which you all know is pretty normal. However, the energy levels I have now are fantastic and I feel the best I have in years. It has been a revelation how much my medications kept me down. I am using the supplements and food as my medicine, and getting outside, even if only to the porch, and I tell you, it is wonderful. As I stated in a previous post, I will not discuss which and what I am using because each of us lupies are different and what works for one may not work for another. If you are thinking of doing the same, please talk to your doctor, do your research, and be sure. I could have taken a turn for the worse. I didn’t but seriously, do your homework.

I will say that I have now added essential oils to my lineup. I cannot tell a difference with one exception. I am sleeping great, longer, and wake feeling more refreshed. I really don’t care if it is a placebo effect but I will take it. I am fermenting too. Just started learning about it in detail and even though I know some, I like to research it thoroughly before implementing it into our life.

My husband is a hoot. He told me yesterday that I was becoming a better person by incorporating these things into our lives. He loves to see me puttering around the garden and can see how happy I am now. He has finally come off soda and now drinks coffee or tea, and water. He drinks some gatorade too. He feels better too and has lost some weight as well. Funny how that happens with just a few changes in your routine.

I will go into some other important things we are doing that I will share with you in my next post. Until then, have a super pain free day everyone and get out and LIVE!

3 thoughts on “Black Walnuts

  1. Mary Lawrence

    Oh shoot-forgot to say, my mother was from West Virginia and boy, I do remember those great tasting black walnuts. Used to be the Black Walnut Festival in Spencer. Bringing back fun memories.

    • Hi Mary! Thank you for liking my porch. We live in a four square, older home but we love it. I am sorry you are not feeling well. I totally understand. As for the walnuts, I cannot wait to use them in something. Any suggestions?

  2. Mary Lawrence

    You have a lovely home, pretty with your flowers. I am so glad that you are feeling good. I have followed you for some years. My Lupus is being a putz this week-crummy flare and rash is attacking my face. Have a great week.

Leave a Reply

